Design ideas

I’ve been thinking a lot about making some changes to my apartment. I think I want to paint my brown wall grey, and make a headboard, and get a giant couch, and a bunch of other stuff. This has been brought on by the fact that I recently added a whackload of design blogs to my RSS feed, so basically every morning I look at nice things and then I think all day about how to get them. Super-constructive.

Anyway, I’ve been saving lots of pics of design ideas I like and I just realized there are like five folders of this stuff on my desktop, so I figured I’d throw it all up here for safekeeping. Please to enjoy / ignore.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

That fabric with the dancing llamas is embroidered blankets made by Otomi people (an indigenous group in Mexico). I love how bright and dynamic it is, and how saturated the colours are. That headboard idea was all over the place in the designblogs a while back, and I still lurve it.

The second half of the slideshow features my new favourite colour scheme: grey + turquoise + yellow. I used to be all over yellow and blue in my university days- my room was basically wallpapered in Van Goghs- and while I think I’m over that particular palette, turquoise + mustard is looking pretty great to me these days.

Some of the rooms in this latter half of the slideshow kinda make my butt clench with how tensely staged they are- I’m not really into the perfect Hollywood Regency hotel look with brandnew matching symmetrical superformal everything- but there are still lots of little ideas here to think about.

I think in my apt, maybe a grey wall + a grey couch + all my preexisting turquoise stuff + I dunno, some yellow pillows? A bowl of butter? And obviously my apartment is also a perfect environment for six pet canaries, to provide that perfect pop of colour.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Covet covet covet. You guys, quit consuming so much media and you’ll quit wanting so much stuff. The Amish are onto something.

One Response to Design ideas

  1. Chris says:

    I loved this slideshow… share your design RSS feed list, if you would!

Leave a Reply

