Nail Polish has come a long way.

My fingernails always look like I used them to scratch a hole through a metal door, so I don’t spend that much time or energy checking into the state of nail technology today. Big mistake. I found a whole blog and YouTube channel of really awesome nail art tutorials. Look at this.

First of all, nail polish floats on water, so you can do cool stuff like this water marbled effect. It’s like Japanese paper marbling, or this one awesome craft I used to do when I was a kid, using clear nail polish on the surface of water and applied to black construction paper, why can I not find a Google image, totally gonna make some this week, anyway:

Plus, now you can get colour-changing nailpolish:

In order to be a nail expert like Colette in these tutorials, you need to own a little bit of nailpolish. Not too much. Just a few bottles. If you keep them well-organized, they hardly take up any space at all.

I’m totally in.

Anyway, I was totally enthralled by, and spent like two hours watching every single video on that channel I briefly viewed a few nail tutorials. And suddenly my raggedy little nail-nubs look undewhelming and I have total keratin envy. All of this, coupled with my naturally competitive nature, means I’m probably going to try to one-up Colette and start growing out my nails for the rest of my life, so I can make them super-pretty and myself super-helpless. Anyone wanna come by and rub my eyes for me? They get itchy.

Leave a Reply

