Game: Spot the flaky smiles

November 8, 2010

Here’s another fun 4-minute game: watch videos of people smiling, then decide if each smile was real or fake.
I got 18/20 right. The two people that fooled me both kind of look alike, I think. #3 and 4 in the photo above are the two dudes I will never trust.

HEY STAMP SO GOOD TO SEE YOU they might yell, but I’ll just glare at them out of the edge of my eyes, muttering YAH RIGHT.

Go here to play.
And thanks to Nadine for Facebooking this!


Game: Recognizing simplified logos

November 8, 2010

Here’s a fun way to waste 3 minutes: see how many of these corporate logos you can recognize. The catch is that they’ve all been majorly simplified into just coloured circles by designer Graham Smith. But these are global brands- for sure you’ve heard of them. I got 17 right; consider the gauntlet thrown.

Go here for the quiz.


Ransack The Universe – Vintage stuff, Toronto

November 8, 2010

The other day I wandered into a Toronto vintage shop, only to discover that (a) it’s full of full of cool stuff, and (b) it’s run by some people I’d already met. Small world (still wouldn’t wanna paint it, though, haaa).

The shop’s called Ransack the Universe and they sell all kinds of stuff made by indie artists and crafters, along with awesome vintage finds.

Look at these amazing vintage pictures I bought. I think they’re meant to be classroom art; I fell for them because they reminded me of early 1980s Sesame Street clips:

This one’s my favourite, look at that dreamy little face:

I also drooled over, but managed not to purchase, this wire-art Unicorn.

The shop is huge (a whole basement level) and totally packed with great stuff- books, kitsch, clothes, furniture. I browsed for almost an hour and still kept finding more cool things.

photo by Valerie Marchand.

I also liked these screen-printed T-shirts by local artist Michelle Bemister (that’s her on the right, accompanied by my old roommates-turned-models, Leslie and K).

Ransack the Universe is located at Bloor & Lansdowne (1207 Bloor, below 69Vintage). Mention you read this and get 10% your purchase for the month of November. Yaaaaa.


TV Scientist compares 30-Rock to Shit My Dad Says

November 8, 2010

Eric Voss, annoyed that SMDS has better ratings than 30-Rock, has counted and catalogued the numbers and types of jokes in episodes of each. The results: 30-Rock has more complex story lines, more types of jokes, and relies on insults for far fewer laughs. On the other hand, one 21-minute episode of SMDS used a laugh track for a total of 4 minutes. Analysis here.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers