Thank you, I’ll be here all week.

Well thanks, Stamp. That packet of lies that served as an introduction is a lot to live up to, but I promise to do my best to keep the exciting content to a maximum, and the excessive punctuation to a minimum (though I hope you’ll all admit that there are some moments that call for seventeen exclamation marks, AMIRITE???? GUYS???).

While Nicole is away, I’ll be holding down the role of Gleaner of Internet Genius, bringing you the best from the elaborate series of tubes we call home. I’m slightly nervous, though, because–at the risk of screwing it all up right from the start–I’m not much of a Cat Person. I just hope that you, members of this community of aFfectionate aFeline aFficionados can be patient and wait for Nicole’s return, because there’s really not going to be any cat content for the next two weeks.

just jokin cat

Well, okay, but just that one image.

Let’s start things off right with a bit of culture, shall we?

Probably you have seen this video of a three year-old reciting poetry. (No? I really think you ought to. Go ahead. Don’t worry, we’ll wait.) The poem was written by Billy Collins, 44th Poet Laureate of the USA. He’s a great poet, a fantastic speaker, and he and his youtube videos can help you get rid of that evening you weren’t using anyways.

Someone has helpfully animated many of his poems for your delight and amazement. The animations are beautiful, but I can admit that I’m not totally sure how I feel about watching images while listening to poetry. It sometimes feels like too much information and my brain shuts down. But, gorgeous!

To start you off, here’s one called Forgetfulness.

There are a bajillion more out there. Please enjoy.

Finally, this (unanimated) poem here, called The Lanyard, made it rain a bit on my face, so use caution.

One Response to Thank you, I’ll be here all week.

  1. noah says:

    ohmygod you’re so good at this.

Leave a Reply

