VROOOOOM

Fun fact: many Torontonians don’t get their drivers’ licenses until adulthood. It’s a pretty transit-friendly city, and as a Toronto teen, you just don’t *need* to drive, the way one might in a more suburban or rural area. I grew up feeling very comfortable on public transit, and living very close to the subway, and very good at mooching rides, so I just never bothered to get my license.

Eventually it occurred to me that not being able to drive kind of sucks, so I started taking lessons. It turns out that learning as an adult is tricky. Where teens are blithe and reckless, adults are sweaty and neurotic, and trying to teach me to parallel park was a little like trying to teach a squirrel how to move a refrigerator, or trying to teach a hypochondriac how to identify poison berries in the woods by their bitter aftertaste, or trying to teach a blogger how to come up with a metaphor that makes even a tiny bit of sense.

Never mind all that. I finally found Ali, a calm teacher whose melodious and lightly-accented voice patiently eased words of driving wisdom into my thick skull, the result being that I passed my roadtest on the first try this afternoon.

I am the proud owner of a valid driver’s license, you guys! Time to throw out all my shoes because obviously I’m never walking anywhere again. NOW GET OUTTA MY WAY VRRROOOOOM NEEEEEEER BEEPBEEP!

PS, Jokes, guys! I am actually a very catful, I mean careful, driver. I like to sit reeeallly close to the wheel and lean right into the windshield and beep my horn a lot and swear. Like a tiny old lady with neurological problems.
Look for me, coming soon to a street near you at 50 km/h!
Or just listen, you’ll probably hear me yelling GAS! BRAKE! GAS! BRAKE! VROOOOOOOOOOOM

9 Responses to VROOOOOM

  1. Rick says:

    Congrats Nicole!!

  2. Amanda says:

    Is it a G1? If it’s a G1 or a G2 there’s quite a bit more stressing to do. BUT I don’t mean to rain on your parade so CONGRATS!

    Also, a word on drivers in Toronto vs. drivers in the suburbs (Brampton) – I usually bike everywhere and I always feel much much safer biking on Toronto streets compared to biking on Brampton SIDEWALKS. Brampton drivers never encounter bikes and so they never look for them when left or right turning, or even when pulling up to a main road from a side street. So whenever I drive anywhere I always take extra caution to look out for bikers.

  3. michelle yee says:

    congratulations!!!

  4. miss possum says:

    catful driver! good one! great photo! congrats! we’re all purring for you over here.
    xoxoxo

  5. Tonya says:

    When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each
    time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service? Thanks a lot!

  6. I was recommended this web site by way of my cousin.
    I am now not positive whether this submit is written by means of
    him as nobody else understand such targeted approximately my difficulty.
    You’re wonderful! Thanks!

  7. Hey there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.
    woolrich outlet http://www.sabio.de/wp-content/themes/woolrichoutlet/

  8. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest authoring a blog article or vice-versa? My blog covers a lot of the same subjects as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other. If you might be interested feel free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog by the way!
    woolrich outlet http://www.edizionipiagge.it/wp-content/themes/woolrichoutlet/

Leave a Reply

