Earthquake in Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Epicentre near Ottawa (just above centre on this map)

Ontario experienced an earthquake today at around 1:42 pm. My house (downtown Toronto, near College and Spadina) just shook for about 10 seconds.

I won’t lie, at first I thought my neighbours were indulging in a particularly vigorous bout of afternoon delight, but then I realized could feel and hear the whole house shaking, not to mention my own intestines. And my cats looked like their little eyes were gonna bug out. Woulda had to be a pretty mighty performance from Mr. Neighbour. So, earthquake. CRAZY!

More crazy? I decided blogging and twittering about it was more important than leaving the house.

This post got 1400 pageviews in under 10 minutes- clearly y’all felt it too.

UPDATE: I did some research for you!

The Canadian quake we just had affected Southern Ontario, parts of Quebec, and parts of New York State and Michigan. The epicentre seems to have been near Ottawa.

It registered about a 5.5 on the Richter scale, which ranks it as “moderate”. According to Wikipedia, this means it would be capable of causing major damage to poorly constructed buildings over small regions, but would cause only slight damage, if any, to well-designed buildings.

For comparison, the Nagasaki atom bomb caused a 5.0 quake (plus a buttload of radiation fallout and etc), and this year’s Haitian quake was a 7.0, which is fifty times stronger than what just totally made my guts crawl into my throat. (Here’s the Wikipedia page on the Richter scale).

WHAT TO DO IF IT COMES BACK:

Inside, crouch under a table or in a corner- away from exterior walls and windows. Cover your head with your arms. Wait.
Outside, go to open ground and hang out. Stay away from trees, buildings, streetlights, and electrical wires.
In a car, pull over and stay in the car. Try not to stop under overpasses, wires, buildings, trees, or utility poles.
Drink a stiff scotch, if available.

79 Responses to Earthquake in Toronto, Ontario, Canada

  1. D-fresh says:

    Felt that too. Thought it was in my head until I searched for confirmation.

    • Paulo says:

      Felt it too, thought I was going crazy until I started searching on the net

      • Ray says:

        this is insanneee!!!!

        I think people’s anger is forming into an earth quake to end the bogus G20 which is costing us 1 billion (what a scam this govt is – they wont even open up on how they spent it. They refuse (consistently) to disclose the costs that led to that 1 billion)

        Sorry – this is supposed to be about earthquake, but i thought i should let everyone know that we are pissed about the 1 billion this scandalous, en-elected govt is wasting

  2. C says:

    I was in the bathroom when it happened LIKE HOLY SHIT!!!

  3. wackypete says:

    Same here…..I’m at Queen & Spadina….our whole office building shook.

  4. sara says:

    i felt it too

  5. yalda says:

    at the same time i was sitting on my computer and my computer was shook for 11o sec

  6. genierose says:

    yes there is. i felt it too.

  7. Rachel says:

    Felt it.

  8. Anonymous says:

    us too! riverdale, same time, about 10 seconds, lamps wiggled and things shook. cool

  9. Anonymous says:

    Me too. I was in Richmond Hill and only lasted for 5 seconds.

  10. Brad says:

    I felt it too….

  11. genierose says:

    the occurance was so long!

  12. Peter says:

    I just felt it too

  13. Lynn says:

    Yeah, our house shook, and apparently my cousin’s in St Catharines did too. And of course, a few minutes after, I’d seen 6 facebook updates about it. Crazy!

  14. Matthew Lanser says:

    Same here. Wellesley and Church.

  15. Anonymous says:

    yes, we felt the tremor at work around that time. victoria park and steeles.

  16. Azzuri says:

    confirmed…..:D glad it was small I was shaking in my chair too…..

  17. Kaddy says:

    I’m in Whitby, and I felt it too.

  18. Frank Lopes says:

    Yes, here at my auto shop, at the same time we felt the place shake. All out air hoses and over head equipment would not stop shaking.

  19. val King says:

    yup 1:42 here in Halton my dog went crazy and the water on the pool got whitecaps!

  20. Mishka says:

    felt it in mississauga

  21. sourpuss says:

    Yup, I think it was an earthquake. Looking for news on it now, that’s how I found your post. :)

  22. bibi says:

    yes!!! my house just shook too! CRAZY!!! I ACTUALLY STOOD IN THE DOOR WAY!

  23. Anonymous says:

    Yes, there was certainly an earthquake. I noticed it in Caledon at about the same time.

  24. STCC says:

    where are you located?

    we just felt it here in Richmond Hill, ON

    Eep!

  25. beaarthursghost says:

    I’m in the annex and I felt it too…I did run out of the house, but once the coast seemed clear, I thought I should see if anyone was blogging/tweeting about it (just to make sure I hadn’t just gone nuts).

  26. Beh says:

    Yeah, we felt it too uptown.

  27. Anonymous says:

    no it was an earth quake- i felt it toooo!!!

  28. trustory says:

    Trying to find out more information, but yeah same thing happened while at work. Desk and computers were shaking followed by a noise.

  29. Kendra says:

    Yes!! my appartment shook so hard for about 8 second too a few minutes ago, it was so scaring!!

  30. A.B. says:

    I felt it as well. I’m near Yonge and Bloor. I am on the 9th floor of an apartment building, and the entire thing shook for about four seconds.

    I called up to a friend near Yonge & Davisville. He gave the same description, and is on the 17th floor of an apartment building.

    I called home to up near Owen Sound (Which admittedly, is really far away) and they did NOT feel the earthquake.

  31. Mirjam says:

    We felt an earthquake at that time as well, we’re up in Thornhill. Strange, it was the strongest one I’ve ever felt around here.

  32. Roza says:

    We experienced the same thing…so scaryy :(

  33. Anonymous says:

    I felt it too!

  34. Kara says:

    Where abouts are you? The same thing just happened to me like 10 minutes ago. I thought I was going nuts, but then I realized the fish tanks were starting to shake and spill over. Clearly somethings up?

    I’m in Downtown T.O.

  35. Maria says:

    Yes, we felt the earth shake here in Markham around 1:43 for about 10 seconds as well…I am a grown woman but yelled for my Mom!

  36. Reimer says:

    We felt it too at Vipond Drive in Mississauga. It was kinda funny, the girl in our department said, “why is my desk shaking?”

  37. ravinder says:

    ‘m located in Malton, my office on 1st floor went shaking at 1:42 pm today June 23, 2010. Its no may be it was a earthquake

  38. Paul says:

    I felt it too, North York near Steeles and Keele, looking for more info.

  39. Steve LaForest says:

    Earthquake in Oshawa

    My whole house shook at about 1:42 or 1:43. I immediately emailed friends to see if they had felt anything.

    Steve LaForest
    Oshawa

  40. STCC says:

    wow – downtown toronto, richmond hill, caledon, mississauga, st.catharines! I wonder where the biggest ‘event’ took place?

    • mommabear says:

      I live in Kitchener, wterloo and it lasted here about 30 or more seconds I thought to my elf holy crap that was some hang over I had. My table was shaking and glass of water, the book I was reading became hard to see it was shaking so bad. It was not until I got in the van to pick up my kids that I heard it on the news. Appearently we get one every 7 years or so I heard here in Ontario, man I’m 36 at that was a first fome! Cqalifornia got hit with 7 earth quakes today must have been teh after math

  41. Hernan says:

    Yes, im at eglinton west building at 16th floor at felt how the building was moving sideway, i was sitting at the computer and started moving my feet at the same time and felt like dizzy then notice it was the building not me.

  42. natalie says:

    Totally! Can’t find anything on the news yet about it…

  43. Rogeroger says:

    I felt it too.
    Beaconsfield & Queen W.
    I wondered if it might be the construction sites nearby. There weren’t any severe winds.
    I’m on the top floor of a house, so I tend to feel movement more up here.
    Odd.
    I’ve never felt anything quite like it in my 5 years of living here.
    …and I’m home a lot since I freelance.

    I came across your site because I was trying to Google for info about it.

  44. Liz says:

    We felt it in Markham too.

  45. Stephanie says:

    Felt it quite a bit at Coxwell and Queen.. damn 3 storey townhouse was practically swaying. creepy!

  46. Richard says:

    It shook our building in Ottawa pretty bad for about 15 seconds!

  47. Paulo says:

    Islington and Lakeshore. Felt it too

    Is it possibly a “G20” event????

  48. Anonymous says:

    Felt it here in Port Hope for about 10 seconds.

  49. mo says:

    my facebook friends are reporting they felt it in ottawa too!

  50. POOPSIE says:

    I live in East York. I am pregnant and very tired but not crazy. I looked over to my dining room and could see my mirror moving and it felt like the walls moving.
    ran outside the house to see if my house was falling down.

  51. G-$ says:

    crazy… felt it downtown and heard reports they felt it in Ottawa and Montreal

  52. bud says:

    i felt it in ottawa downtown in my apartment….seriously…crap

  53. Vanessa says:

    WE had the same thing 1hr north of KINGSTON ONTARIO!

  54. Anonymous says:

    felt in in Kingston ON at 1340 ish

  55. Sarah says:

    Actually ran outside lol – thought some walls were coming down. Freaky!

  56. Chinni says:

    I felt the same in Whitby, ON. for good 20 – 30 secs.

  57. WAYNE BARTLETT says:

    Earthquake felt in St.Thomas, Ontario. 30lb speakers were swaying back and fourth for about 10 seconds then it happened again for about 5 seconds.
    @ 1:46 PM

  58. Ray says:

    YES, INDEED. about 7 minutes ago – my entire apartment complex shook for about 15 to 20 seconds.. a construction site in front of my apartment filled with workers headed to teh street instantly.. you know whats more crazy? ALL THE NEWS LINKS RELATED TO THE EARTHQUAKE EXCEPT THIS ONE ARE INACCESSIBLE

  59. Rainbooster says:

    God! I thought my bed had been possessed by an evil entity for about ten seconds. First time I ever experienced an earthquake, ever.

    • genieroselyra says:

      lol. but i thought it was my head for being so long at the computer then my grandmother asked me if i felt the earthquake. i’m relieved.

  60. Ela says:

    Yonge & Lawrence we felt it big time !

  61. halltalk says:

    I felt it too. I’m at Bloor and Dufferin. Whole house shook for 10 seconds (on the second floor) but the store on the main floor didn’t even notice. Anyone have any ideas?

  62. STCC says:

    Apparently the epicentre was in Ottawa!?

  63. Ray says:

    i’m in mel stand square (yonge/sheppard) – people are OUT HERE. Thousands of people are on the streets of TOronto

  64. michelle yee says:

    wow. freaky stuff.

    I was on the 2nd floor of our house at Dundas + Lansdowne but the husband who was outside didn’t feel a thing.

  65. fari says:

    I was taliking to my friend; from uptown to downtown Toronto, both of us felt it.

  66. Rita says:

    Here in Prince Edward County our poor old (1850s) house shook and trembled. I got scared. It made me feel a bit nauseous too — maybe there’s low-frequency rumbling that you can’t ‘hear’ but you sense it anyway.

    I know in Tokyo and other places these little shakings go on every day and no-one bats an eye, but we’ve never gotten so blase!

  67. genieroselyra says:

    it took so long in dufferin and st.claire

  68. Jennyhead says:

    i think i’m getting a post-earthquake migraine. Weirdest feeling ever. Can you do a future blerg post on earthquake migraines.

    Yay popular blog!

  69. Kara says:

    So the earthquake was a 5.5! all the info can be found here: http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/recenteqsww/Quakes/us2010xwa7.php#details

  70. Enjie says:

    Ouch, I was scared about this earthquake news.

  71. noe says:

    it’s remember us to repair our deed ,,, because the disaster we don’t know whwn it will happen,,,,

  72. you50.com says:

    Ludwig Kietzmann ( LudwigK): I’m going to fill all those games: Final Fantasy XIII, Metro 2033, Battlefield: Bad Company 2, Splinter Cell: conviction, Just Cause 2, hero game point 3D, Shin Megami Tensei: travel Strange. How many days in a week end?

  73. Bill Dimopoulos says:

    We have 25,000 door hangers going out to homes in Durham region on May 15th. Limited advertising spots are available. Prices start at $350 for a 3.5 X 2 business card size ad. Give your business a boost this season without spending a fortune in advertising. Please email me back for more info: gtaflyer@gmx.com

  74. Hi there to every body, it’s my first pay a quick visit of this website; this
    weblog carries awesome and really good material for visitors.

  75. Enstrom says:

    Thanks for the particular auspicious writeup.. Enstrom It was any leisure bank account it. Look state-of-the-art to considerably additional gratifying by you! Moreover, how should we communicate?

Leave a Reply

