Awake endotracheal intubation

Dr. Michael Bailin performs an awake entodracheal self-intubation (ie, puts a tube into his throat through which a machine will be able to keep breathing for him if he stops).

I’ve had a scope down my throat once (not this deep) to check for vocal nodes, because I performed the voice of a talking televised hamster for a few years and the character’s high-pitched scratchiness eventually took its toll. It was a somewhat unnerving, uncomfortable procedure which I certainly didn’t handle with quite as much rodeo glamour as this guy. I’ve also been intubated for surgery, and woke up with a barking, busted voice, like this guy’s at the end of this video. I think that’s my favourite part, actually, when he goes back to teaching and sounds like a giant teenaged boy. Fun.
Thanks to Greg for the tip.

Leave a Reply

