Is this what the kids are doing these days?

I get a friend request on Facebook from “Peter Banks”, a guy I’ve never met. We do have one mutual friend, but to be honest I don’t know that guy very well either; he’s a friend’s brother and I’ve only met him once. A name like Peter Banks is so common it’s unGoogle-able, so no help there. Peter’s profile is pretty bare. There is one photo of a twenty-something male model- which could be an actual photo of Peter, I guess, since our one mutual friend does a little modelling too. And his profile says he’s “in a relationship”, so maybe he’s not just trying to flirt with random girls, which would have been my first guess.

ME: Hey Peter, thanks for the friend request. Have we met in real life?

PETER: Hey Nicole, never had the pleasure of meeting you in real life. I signed up for FB mainly for netwoking, but making a few friends along the way would be an added bonus. If you only accept people you know then no worries & sorry to trouble you.
Keep well.

I do not at all understand. How is it networking (excuse me, “netwoking”) to randomly friend people with no preamble? That’s not networking, that’s just… weird. It’s like coming to a party and just staring at someone for an hour instead of saying hi. What, am I going to friend a complete stranger and then somehow we’re in some sort of viable network together, sharing, what, tips? Is it like, if you stare at another person at a party long enough they might give you a job reference or something? I’m no expert but I do not think that’s how this works. Is it? Why am I asking this? *head explodes*

So I just hit “Accept friend request” and we’ll see what happens. Oh no wait, I did not do that.

One Response to Is this what the kids are doing these days?

  1. caelanmac says:

    Now that he’s your friend, you are privy to his random posts, and he to yours. You may find out he is passionately into both thai food and pie eating contests, and when someone you know is putting together a “thai eating contest”, your new friend has netwoked himself into being the first person you think of.

Leave a Reply

