Raised by a single mom

Meg is a med student in NYC whose blog is one of the highlights of the whole wide internet for me, usually because it’s really funny. The other day she wrote a particularly lovely, heartwarming, thought-provoking post about her work in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit:

I say things that sound important at my job all the time:

We’ve found the mutation that is causing your child’s lung disease. I’ll need DNA from every living relative so we can see who else might be a carrier. I’m sorry. We still don’t know why your baby can’t breathe on her own.

Those are all important-sounding things. And they are, in fact, important things to the family and to the medical team, and there is a lot of science involved and research and papers and that is the reason I can say those words, and that is the reason people care about them.

But sometimes at my job, without anyone’s permission or direction, without any papers in hand or abbreviations or acronyms or any right except a self-imposed one, I say something that feels very, very important to me. It’s this:

It’s going to be okay. I was raised by a single mom, and I turned out just fine.

Go read the whole post, it’s so great. Then add her blog to your RSS feed and get ready for a great post every week or so.

2 Responses to Raised by a single mom

  1. Andrea says:

    so awesome. thanks for encouraging my addiction. thanks a lot.

  2. noah says:

    dooooooooooooood –
    hilarious. both hobocamp AND the fact that i just emailed Andrea to encourage her to go check it out. Meg is so funny that i had the stomach flu this week, and i cured it by laughing so fucking much at her funny funny funny.
    thanks a bajillion!
    yours – n

Leave a Reply

