Impractical iPhone application

The other night I went to a sports bar to watch a UFC fight. My friend Helder spent 30% of the evening on his iPhone, as is his custom. At the end of the match, as we were paying, I dropped a toonie (a Canadian $2 coin) on the floor under the table and couldn’t see it in the dark.

Toonies. I had a teacher who used to call them Moonies. When we asked why, she said it was because a toonie depicts the Queen... with a bear behind.

I was gonna ask Helder to shine his iPhone down there to help me find it but first I just stuck my head under the table to see if I could solve my problem by myself, because I’m slowly learning that that’s what adults do.

A few seconds into my exploration of independence, Helder mildly inquired as to why I was paddling around in one of the many pools of spilled beer on the carpet at Toby’s. I poked my head back up and explained that I was looking for a dropped toonie, obviously. He immediately whipped out his iPhone and shone it under the table.

HELDER
Here, maybe this will help.

NICOLE
Oh, thanks.

HELDER
(pause)
It’s a new application I downloaded for finding toonies.

(pause)
It’s called iTunie.

(pause)
It cost me a dollar-ninety-nine.

NICOLE
Found it!

HELDER
Oh.
(turns off phone)
That’s it for the application then. One-time use.

Amazing. Helder’s getting back into stand-up comedy in 2010 and I think the world can only be made a better place by this decision.

2 Responses to Impractical iPhone application

  1. Daisy says:

    Nicole, you really crack me up! Thanks for your ongoing humour and posts.

    Daisy

  2. Alison says:

    Agreed. Go Helder!

Leave a Reply

