Toenails removed: a distance runner’s gory sacrifice

toenail removed

Ultramarathoners are people who run for like 19 hours at a time. I have another word for people who do this, and that word is “TIRED”. But these people exist, and as you might imagine, they have hella sore feet. Their toes pound up against the front of their shoes, and the nails hurt and get all ingrown and skanky and stuff. So… some of them have their toenails surgically pulled off and then the nail beds chemically burned so the nails won’t ever grow back. GAH.

Here’s an awesome/gross photogallery of one woman’s toenail removal. I love her for being so into this; I would have done exactly the same thing. Except without the “removing my toenails” part. Listen, pals. I really love my weekly dodgeball games, but if I ever start talking about surgically improving my gameplay, you guys have my permission to grab my shoulders firmly and shake vigorously.
Via Metafilter.

4 Responses to Toenails removed: a distance runner’s gory sacrifice

  1. HuggPress says:

    You know the arctic explorers used to have their molars pulled before they went on long (likely doomed) expeditions to avoid the risk of death by abscess. Now that’s commitment.

  2. hermes birkin fake buy Toenails removed: a distance runner’s gory sacrifice | pageslap

  3. nicotine free electronic cigarettes Toenails removed: a distance runner’s gory sacrifice | pageslap

  4. Hermes mini constance bag price Toenails removed: a distance runner’s gory sacrifice | pageslap

Leave a Reply

