Star Wars’ Bad Design

John Scalzi examines a number of DesignFAILs in Star Wars.

GeorgeFinal

Lightsabers
Yes, I know, I want one too. But I tell you what: I want one with a hand guard. Otherwise every lightsaber battle would consist of sabers clashing and then their owners sliding as quickly as possible down the shaft to lop off their opponent’s fingers. You say: Lightsabers can slice through anything but another lightsaber, so what are you going to make a hand guard out of? I say: Dude, if you have the technology to make a lightsaber, you have the technology to make a light hand guard.

Ha ha ha. More here.

UPDATE:
I disagree that this is a fail.

fail-owned-baby-name-fail

Thanks to Phil for the tip.

Also, a recent conversation I had with some friends:

ALL OF US: [Discussion of various baby names we like & disike]

ME: If Scott and I have a kid, he wants its middle name to be “Batman”.

SCOTT: I didn’t say anything about “middle” name.

2 Responses to Star Wars’ Bad Design

  1. Phil says:

    I’m loving failblog! I’d heard of it, but never checked it out till I followed the link from your page.

    Along the Star Wars theme, have you seen this?
    http://failblog.org/2009/03/20/baby-name-fail-2/

  2. Interior Design…

    […]Star Wars’ Bad Design « pageslap[…]…

Leave a Reply

