Julia Dales and Daichi: Beatbox awesomeness

These are my two favourite entries from the World Beatbox championship amatreur submissions. I won’t lie to you though; these are also the only two entries I watched.

Julia Dales, a Canadian 17-year old who just recorded her winning entry in the backseat of someone’s car in the parking lot:

Her mom says she sits around at home beatboxing to herself while she does her homework.

Daichi, a Japanese 18-year old who might actually have better technique, but it’s hard to beat the totally nonchalant girl who looks like she didn’t even rehearse.

I wish I could beatbox… but I never even try to learn because you have to intake air sharply through your mouth to make the ssssh sounds, and my teeth are very temperature-sensitive *SOB*

Thanks to Claire for the tip.

3 Responses to Julia Dales and Daichi: Beatbox awesomeness

  1. megan says:

    Plus, she’s a girl. In my very very very limited beat-boxing experience, I have noticed that it seems pretty male-dominated.

  2. Sara says:

    This is a great article about viral videos like the one this one that made Julia Dales so popular: http://www.greenbuzzagency.com/marketers-need-to-understand-the-power-of-viral-videos

Leave a Reply

