Yael Naim covers Britney Spears’ “Toxic”

This gem of a videoslap is from Parker, who knows me well- there’s nothing I like better than a lady singer who BRINGS IT, totally giving Britney Spears the what-for on a cover of my favourite Brit-Brit song. French-Israeli singer Yael Naim (she sings that “New Soul” song from the MacBook Air commercials) could not be sexier if she tried, this sort of insane gypsy thing she’s doing is unbelievable, and is about one zillion times more interesting than Brit-Brit’s floor-humping vulgarity. This cover rocks hard. 6 minutes.

I really like “Toxic” quite a lot- you may recall this wicked ukelele cover I rhapsodized about a few months ago.

One Response to Yael Naim covers Britney Spears’ “Toxic”

  1. j.bone says:

    Gorgeous! I like her accent.

    I can’t sing for crap but when I know I’m alone in the house and feeling mildly ‘Britney’ I sing “Hit Me Baby” in my best Billie Holiday. It just seems like a song she would have sung. Only Billie would have sung it like she meant for her man to smack her one. That’s just the way Billie rolled.

    j.

Leave a Reply

