Walter Iooss’ fantastic sports photoblog

Walter Iooss' iconic image of stickball in Havana.

Walter Iooss' iconic image of stickball in Havana.

This is great: Walter Iooss’ photo website (mostly sports pics), with intermittent commentary.

I love this picture. For two guys in their 70s, they look cute; there was a little-boy quality to them. A couple of years went by, and I was at spring training again. I hadn’t seen Yogi or Whitey since we’d taken the picture. I said to Yogi, “Walter Iooss, remember, I took that picture of you…” And he said, “Hey Whitey, here’s the guy who took that horrible picture of us.” Whitey came over and said, “Oh, my family hated that picture. Said you made me look like a little old guy.” I thought they were putting me on. I said, “Are you kidding me? I love that picture.” Whitey said, “Love it? We hate that picture.”

Walter Iooss' photograph of Yogi Berra and Whitey Ford as little old guys.

Walter Iooss' photograph of Yogi Berra and Whitey Ford as little old guys.

Source.

One Response to Walter Iooss’ fantastic sports photoblog

Leave a Reply

