Weight Watchers recipe cards, circa 1974

In the 1970s, ladies maintained their girlish figures by eating rather different foods than we eat nowadays. And back then, if they photographed their culinary achievements, they often included inedible objects in the background, objects that stand today as a sort of bric-a-brac time capsule for the era, or else as ornamental evidence of the extensive and inappropriate pharmaceuticals usage of the era.
CandyBoots has a whole site full of this gold, but to whet your appetite (you see what I did there?), here are some examples:

Liver Pate En Masque:

I didn't think liver could look worse, but I was incorrect.

I didn't think liver could look worse, but I was incorrect.

Personally, I would have been inclined to call this next one the Frankfurter Anaconda with Pineapple Victim, but maybe I’d have found it more spectacular in the mid-1970s:

I refuse to make a joke about this.

I refuse to make a joke about this.


And behold the fragrant Shrimp-Orange Sump Pump Salad of Mexico, complete with creepy ceramic cats and indigenous hallucinogenic amphibian:

Toad in photo, do not want.

Toad in photo, do not want.

Actually, you know, the more I look at these monstrosities, the more I start to think I might just skip lunch. Maybe that’s how the cards were supposed to work.

3 Responses to Weight Watchers recipe cards, circa 1974

  1. Janine Falcon says:

    Omigod, THANK you for reminding me about Candyboots! Aren’t these hysterical?? The writer is soooo funny. I think she mighta done a book, or someone else did… a gallery of hideous food or something. Ordinarily I would go find the title so I could just put it here for you, but I’m supposed to be working. As usual. Buh bye! (There’s also a book about hideous interior decorating and 1970s knit monstrosities — I have them both but for the life of me can’t access the titles at the mo.) Ack — back to work.

  2. Kelly K says:

    I never saw the vid, but that liver pate en masque image figures prominently in my imagination of “2 girls, 1 cup.”

    And I quite liked pate upon a time . . .

  3. […] stamperoo wrote a fantastic post today on “Weight Watchers recipe cards, circa 1974″Here’s ONLY a quick extractIn the 1970s, ladies maintained their girlish figures by eating rather different foods than we eat nowadays. And back then, if they photographed their culinary achievements, they often included inedible objects in the background, … […]

Leave a Reply

