Barenaked in the bathroom

Gordon, the debut album by The Barenaked Ladies, was the first tape I ever bought with my own money, and I’ve had a soft spot the size of my entire torso for the band ever since. Today, out of the blue, I realized I was humming a bunch of late-90s BNL tunes and suddenly remembered ye olde internet and the bounty of weird covers and bootlegs contained herein. I found a rich vein of BNL fandom on YouTube, capped by a particular gem: a huge collection of songs called The Bathroom Sessions, performed by BNL’s lead guitarist/singer Ed Robertson, in, you guessed it, his bathroom. Acoustic perfection, you know, on account of the tiles and stuff.

“Am I The Only One” is a sweet love song with a sad backstory, and songwriter Robertson’s gentle rendition is heartbreaking and perfect. It wouldn’t be YouTube if it didn’t have dumb comments, and in this case, someone has offered, “this is easily the best cover i have ever heard. if i heard only the music, nobody could convince me that this was some youtube guy. It sounds exactly like the CD track.” Thanks, TheTooj2008.

The video below is one of my all-time favourite BNL songs; a love song between frontmen Ed Robertson and Steven Page, entitled “Some Fantastic (Ivory and Ivory)”.

I’ve used this song somewhere in the preshow music of pretty much everything I’ve ever written, and even as the theme music on the DVD menu of my demo reel. Its particular brand of breezy sunshine is exactly the way I want audiences to feel when they see my stuff. And then I want them to feel the urge to go fix Stampi some macaroni dinner with cut-up hot dogs in it, because that stuff is delicious. Especially with really expensive ketchup. Dijon ketchup, mmmm.

Leave a Reply

