Mosquito Ringtone – test your hearing

The mosquito ringtone is a really high-pitched whine that most people past their mid 20s can’t hear any more due to natural progressive hearing loss. Some malls broadcast it outside the building to keep teens from hanging out around the shops- the sound annoys the teens but the average adult shopper can’t hear it. Teens got the last laugh on those old adults by using the sound as a celphone ringtone so they could hear incoming text messages in class and outwit their older teachers.

I’m no teen, but I can still hear the mosquito tone. I perceive it more as an awareness of an unpleasant feeling than an actual sound, though, if that makes any sense. Kind of like when people at work leave televisions on and the buzzing CTR monitor noise makes me go insane. You can test your own hearing here. The mosquito tone is at 17hz. This should be ok to do at work- it’s just a high, electronic sustained beep that’s not very loud, and if any of your coworkers notice it, they won’t be mad for long when you tell them they basically have the eardrums of a pre-teen.

6 Responses to Mosquito Ringtone – test your hearing

  1. Ricky says:

    I am so pre-teen it’s unbelievable!

  2. Leslie P says:

    Weird, I could hear all but the 16hz. Wonder what that means….
    Stupid Nine Inch Nails concerts…

  3. Eryn says:

    I could hear every single one of these clearly, and I can occasionally hear a lower-pitched dog whistle (If I’m lucky to be in range of one).
    Apparently, these tests are meant to prove your MENTALITY AGE and not your real age [the age you think and act at]. I can hear all of them, and higher, with or without earphones in. My television lets off a 20hz, and it keeps me awake half the night. purely for the fact that it makes my dog go ape in the utility behind my room (yes, I sleep downstairs!!)

  4. Eryn says:

    P.S. : I’m 13, going on 14 on June 8th.

  5. Phone and accessories blog…

    [...]Mosquito Ringtone – test your hearing « pageslap[...]…

  6. This is my first time visit at here and i am in
    fact impressed to read all at alone place.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

