Camel versus Bin

June 4, 2009
O HAI, I IZ A KAML.  MY MOUF LOOKZ LIK A PUPPIT.

O HAI, I IZ A KAML. MY MOUF LOOKZ LIK A PUPPIT.

Who knew camels were adorable and hilarious? Here we have a fantastic photo essay of a baby camel trying to kill a Tupperware. Really, click this one. It’s great. (BTW, “cushing” means lying down, and the reason the owner hasn’t ridden the camel yet is because his joints are too soft to safely bear extra weight. But she sits on him while he’s cushing to socialize and gentle him).

Also, did you know camels make a really unpleasant and hilarious sound when you shove them into a car? It’s true!

WHY ARE THOSE CAMELS IN THAT CAR, you may be saying. Well, according to the YouTube blurb, “A Bedouin resident of the Negev managed to complete the inconceivable feat when he stuffed two camels into his car in order to transport them to the West Bank Judea.” Obviously.

Apparently Ben Burtt (I had to look that up; originally I typed Burtt Bird) used sped-up camel braying as the sound of Tauntauns in Star Wars.

If you need more, there are many more camel photos here.
All via Metafilter.


Overheard in Toronto (but not by me)

June 4, 2009

After reading “My Acting”, a funny conversation I recently overheard on the subway and posted on this blog, Toronto theatre artist Mark Cassidy drew my attention to his site, where he’s been collecting snippets of overheard conversation from around the city in preparation for an upcoming show with his theatre company, Threshhold Theatre. Here’s one I particularly liked:

Guy in line at Tim Hortons’:
(really quick, auctioneer-like delivery) Had a coffee already today, but I liked it so much, I think I’ll have another coffee.

Other person in line:
Can you say that any faster?

Auctioneer guy:
After I drink my coffee.

There’s a whole list of conversations here- some pretty intense- along with lots of interesting ideas about theatre creation.
Thanks, Mark!


Clouds!

June 4, 2009

I’ve never heard of these before: Mammatus, or Mammatocumulus clouds (meaning “bumpy clouds”):

Mammatus_Clouds

800px-Mammatus-clouds-Tulsa-1973

Right now, the Cloud Appreciation Society is pushing for recognition of a new kind of cloud, known as Asperatus, or “choppy” clouds:

asperatus clouds

Gorgeous, huh? More large and lovely photos here.
Via Metafilter.


Vanishing Point – secret places in Toronto

June 4, 2009
Detail of one of many gorgeous photos from VanishingPoint.ca

Detail of one of many gorgeous photos from VanishingPoint.ca

Here.
Awesome.
Via Metafilter, of course.


Total Eclipse of the Heart: Literally (except for the eclipse part)

June 4, 2009

Via Metafilter.

UPDATE:
And here’s a better way to understand this song: A “Total Eclipse of the Heart” Flow Chart. (Awesome)
Thanks to Hill for that tip.

If you like literal music videos, you’ll probably also appreciate My Loony Bun is Fine Benny Lava.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers