Michelle Obama dresses good, and more fashion stuff

I’m not gonna lie to you, I’ve been keeping an eye on Michelle Obama’s clothes. I think she’s a sharp dresser and I like her style. Not that I like every single outfit she’s ever worn, of course- but she’s hit it outta the park often enough (that turquoise dress & brooch she wore to the DNC, oooh, aaaah!) — that I’m definitely gonna take notes from here on in.

click to enlarge.

click to enlarge.


Photo source.

Some of the rules in MO’s style bible seem to mirror my clothing preferences, too: bright colours, sharp, straight silhouettes (very rarely will you see her wear anything poofy or drapey), big jewellery (she’s into brooches and pearls, whereas I’m more about the giant earrings, but you take my point), avoidance of long sleeves, and always with the tight-waisted dresses, often with big belts. Anyway, I’ve been periodically Google-image stalking searching her fashion choices, and finally I’ve found a Michelle Obama fashion blog that will do the legwork for me.
Via Metafilter.

While we’re at it, the internet is, as you’d imagine, a rich minefield of fashion sites, and here are a few of my favourites.

I also like to look at photos of clothing at gofugyourself, and there are some great formal-wear ideas to be found in Jezebel’s Good/Bad/Ugly posts. Most of all, I like the Wardrobe Remix flickr pool (I like to let it build up in my RSS reader then scroll through the pics really fast while I’m on the phone).

Two standout wardrobe remixers I’ve found are galadarling, who’s like a tiny pink punk alien Madonna here to kick you with her giant boots, and Johanni, who looks like the 1955 Lolita lovechild of Marilyn Monroe and Bjork. Those two have almost cartoony levels of awesome going on. But really, there are a ton of sharp, inventive dressers on wardrobe remix, and it’s awesome seeing people with regularly/irregularly proportioned bodies wearing interesting outfits. Also, Wardrobe Remix is probably to thank/blame for my dresses-over-pants awesomeness/problem.

I also enjoy FashionUnder$100- which, as the name suggests, shows you how to copy celeb outfits for under $100 per outfit- including shoes (whaaaat?), and I like to look at the modelly-types in their impractical shoes on Sartorialist and Garance Doré (GD has an English version too, but there’s something more romantic about reading it en francais, je pense. Kind of like having black coffee and cynicism for breakfast, you know?)

Sartorialist and Garance Doré are kind of annoying in how skinny all their subjects are, so I also love the Fatshionista flickriver for a little shape-diversity. Who says you gotta weigh 112 pounds to look nice? If that was true, I’d have stopped looking nice around seventh grade. And listen, in seventh grade I hadn’t yet figured out how to pluck my eyebrows, so trust me, it’s much better this way.

Artist's interpretation of me in seventh grade, pre-tweeze.

Artist's interpretation of me in seventh grade, pre-tweeze.

6 Responses to Michelle Obama dresses good, and more fashion stuff

  1. urban wear says:

    Michelle Obama dresses good, and more fashion stuff « pageslap…

  2. designs jewelry…

    […]Michelle Obama dresses good, and more fashion stuff « pageslap[…]…

  3. bill gates says:

    bill gates…

    […]Michelle Obama dresses good, and more fashion stuff « pageslap[…]…

  4. Darwin says:

    Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thanks,
    However I am experiencing troubles with your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I cannot join it. Is there anyone else having the same RSS problems? Anybody who knows the answer will you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  5. sbobet says:

    You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be
    really something which I think I would never understand.

    It seems too complex and very broad for me.
    I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang
    of it!

  6. Hey there! I simply wish to offer you a big thumbs up for the excellent info you’ve got right here on
    this post. I am coming back to your website for more soon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

