Two videoslaps.

November 7, 2008

This is me, I admit it: The Onion reports: Obama Win Causes Obsessive Supporters To Realize How Utterly Empty Their Lives Are.

And this other one is for Alison and the rest of the TDS kids, so unless you’re a total Broadway-slash-Uta Hagen stylez nerd, don’t bother. But I like it for several reasons, most of all because it’s so obviously the fourth-year theatre school class at some university theatre program in a Midwestern state, and if videocameras had existed back when I was a lad, my class would so totally have done this. Probably in two versions so we could double-cast the leads. In this case, I particularly like the choice of casting McCain as Javert and Palin as the Thenardiers. And I like seeing the one ambiguously-ethnic girl with the belty voice as Eponine (I identify with her!). Also, don’t Marius, Cosette, and Eponine remind you of Jim, Pam, and Karen Fillipelli from The Office? And most of all, I like the fact that there was no black dude in that class to play Obama/Valjean. (Us neither! It would have been Eric J Rose, or maybe Patrick Young in politically-incorrect makeup for a stunning faculty cameo!)

Okay, theatre-school digression over.
…For now.


Total incoherence, but maybe some of you feel the same.

November 7, 2008

I can’t stop looking at photos of Obama and of the crowd at Grant Park and all the front pages of all the newspapers. And when I look at them I feel this intense, lovely feeling- like there’s no way my lungs can fit into my ribcage, and my breath catches and my nose runs because my eyes are tearing up and my heart pounds a little and I hope I hope I just HOPE. I keep thinking about Obama’s speech and the huge moment in history it represents and the awe and silence with which we listened to it, and how proud of him I feel and how deeply I admire him, and how intensely I felt goodness, just plain goodness, things can be so good. I felt like I was going to explode as he spoke because it was just too big, and I keep remembering the quick conversation I had with my dad on the phone right after the results were announced and how quietly happy he was that the world has come this far, and knowing that all over the world people felt the same as we felt, and those are all huge things and yet still none of that is big enough to describe how I feel. I don’t have any words for how I feel. It’s so good, and it really happened! And even this isn’t enough to explain it. But these women’s faces kind of do.

83306963CC123_Barack_Obama_

83306963CC099_Barack_Obama_

Was2022351


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers